Spider stitch shrugs with a touch of knit


It’s been a while since my last post but only because I’ve been so busy working on this cute projects. I found myself starting nowhere and ending doing two projects at once, actually 3 but that’s another story 🙂 They are really easy and fun to crochet (and knit) and pretty quick also.

The pattern for the spider stitch it’s written bellow:

(multiple of 19+3)

Ch 21, go into the fourth chain from hook and work two rows of double crochet; at the end of each row Ch2 (or Ch3 as you please, counts as Dc) and turn. Next row: 4Dc (a total of 5 Dc), Ch4, skip 1 stitch, 1 TrCr (Treble Crochet), skip 1 stitch, 1TrCr, skip 1 st, 1TrCr, skip 1st, 1TrCr, skip 1 st (you will have 4 TrCr), Ch4, 5Dc at the end of the row, Ch2, turn.

Next 3 rows: 5dc (counting the turning chains), Ch4, Sc in top of each TrCr, Ch4, 5Dc, Ch2, Turn.
Next row: 5Dc, Ch1, TrCr in the first Sc (TrCr in each Sc with Ch1 in between), Ch1, 5Dc, Ch2, turn.

Next two rows: Dc (including the Ch1 spaces).

As an idea how to work these: I’ve used a 5mm hook and a 5 mm circular knitting needle, Ch78, 2 rows of Dc and followed the spider stitch pattern for a length of approx 67 cm and a width of 45 cm. You adjust the dimensions to your shoulder and back measurements. You’ll have a rectangular shaped piece. Next I folded the corners to form the armholes and join  them with a couple of stitches. Now it’s all up to your imagination and creativity: you can work a knitted ribbed border, or any border you like, you can lengthen the back in the same way I did, work long or short sleeves, the choice is yours. I wanted to use a knitted border because I’ve missed knitting so much I almost forgot how much since I started crocheting!

I hope it makes sense and this is how they look like 🙂

3 thoughts on “Spider stitch shrugs with a touch of knit

  1. paulineos says:

    What a successful combination of crochet with knitting, lovely!

  2. […] everybody This is my latest project inspired by this post. I thought that they would fit together very well, don’t you think […]

Leave a Reply

